close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Veteran Registry


On July 1, LB93 will go into effect allowing Nebraska’s veterans to have the word “VETERAN” placed on their driver license or state identification card. The law established a veteran registry, in order to verify a service member’s veteran status.

Many businesses offer special rebates or offers to veterans, as long as they can prove they served.

The process is very simple, with several methods available to register as a veteran. One of the easiest ways is to visit your county veteran service office.

“No matter how you decide to register, a person will need a copy of their DD214 or discharge papers,” explained Dawson County Veteran Service Officer Steve Zerr. “If you’ve brought yours in when you returned home from the service, I will have it here in the office.”
Zerr is currently in the process of uploading the files of veterans into a database, which makes the process very quick. “If I have your file already uploaded, I can get someone registered in as little as a minute,” he explained. “All I need is the person’s driver license number.
“Even if I don’t have their file started or their discharge uploaded yet, it may only take five minutes.”

The cost to have the veteran designation on your license is $12.50 if you are not changing any data on your license. “What I recommend is to have it put on when you renew your license,” Zerr said, “or if you are changing your address or adding an endorsement.

“Then the cost is included in the regular fees.”

The process does take some time, Zerr explained. “With what I’ve seen so far, it’s usually overnight before the registry shows up on the Department of Motor Vehicles computer system,” he said. “I encourage all veterans to get registered sooner rather than waiting until it’s time to renew your driver’s license.”

The registry process can also be done online at or emailed to An application can also be printed out at

A copy of your DD214 will need to be sent with any application.

The registry also is required to be eligible for special military service plates. LB383 was signed by Gov. Dave Heineman in April of this year, clearing the way for veterans to show their military service on their vehicles. The Nebraska Armed Forces Pride plates will feature the country’s service branches – Navy, Army, Air Force, Marines, Coast Guard, Air Corps, Merchant Marine and Nebraska National Guard.

The Armed Forces Pride plates will cost an additional $5 or $40 for a specialty plate. “The neat thing is 75 percent of the $40 fee for a specialty plate will go toward the Nebraska Veteran Cemetery System Operation Fund,” Zerr explained.

Along with visiting the Veteran Service Office in the Dawson County Courthouse, veterans will be able to contact him at future outreach events. “We are planning a Veterans Appreciation Day at the Dawson County Fair July 17 and a couple of evening hour events outside of Lexington in the near future,” said Zerr.